Accreditation Requirements for Management Systems CBs

This information is for reference only and is not intended to be a complete list of documents required for any management systems. Links are provided to verify current versions and/or to download or purchase the referenced documents.

Reference Documents for Management Systems CBs

ANAB requires that CBs for all types of management systems conform to the most recent versions of:

ISO/IEC 17021-1:2015, Conformity assessment - Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems (available from ANSI)

MA 5000, ANAB Management Systems Accreditation Manual

As applicable, available from IAF:

IAF MD 1:2007, Certification of Multiple Site Based on Sampling

IAF MD 2:2007, Transfer of Accredited Certification of Management Systems

IAF MD 3:2008, Advanced Surveillance and Recertification Procedures

IAF MD 4:2008, Use of Computer Assisted Auditing Techniques for Accredited Certification of Management Systems

IAF MD 5:2009, Duration of QMS and EMS Audits

IAF MD 7:2010, Harmonization of Sanctions

IAF MD 9:2015, Application of ISO/IEC 17021 in the Field of Medical Device Quality Management Systems (ISO 13485)

IAF MD 13: 2015, Knowledge Requirements for AB Personnel for Information Security Management Systems (ISO/IEC 27001)

IAF MD 16:2015, Application of ISO/IEC 17011 for the Accreditation of Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS) Certification Bodies

IAF MD 17:2015, Witnessing Activities for the Accreditation of Management Systems Certification Bodies

IAF MD 18:2015, Application of ISO/IEC 17021:2011 in the Service Management Sector (ISO/IEC 20000-1)

Additional standards and/or other requirements for each ANAB accreditation program are identified on the relevant area of this site for the program.

Requirements for Accreditation Bodies

ANAB operates according to the requirements of:

ISO/IEC 17011:2004, Conformity assessment - General requirements for accreditation bodies accrediting conformity assessment bodies (available from ANSI)

IAF/ILAC A5:11/2013, IAF/ILAC Multi-lateral Mutual Recognition Arrangements: Application of ISO/IEC 17011 (available from IAF)

IAF MD 12:2013, Assessment of Certification Activities for Cross Frontier Accreditation (available from IAF)

IAF MD 8:2015,  Application of ISO/IEC 17011:2004 in the Field of Medical Device Quality Management Systems (ISO 13485) (available from IAF)

Request a Quote